I wish they could see me the way I see them

There are times when I feel my shattered parts so deeply that no words, time, or space can ever heal those wounds

When I miss my stepfather and grieve the loss of the relationship I never had with my own father

When I remember why family is so important to me, because I’ve never really had one

When I grieve the loss of my friends that have passed and moved on because they were often my chosen people and family

When I remember that my skin doesn’t match my heritage, yet my heritage matches my soul

When I long for days of missed conversations with the wise souls and lost souls 

I am so much more than people see or hear about me

I am strong and soft, smooth and jagged, rough and refined…

And there is so much more pain than beauty on these days when I remember who and what I truly am

I wish they could see me the way I see them

Leave a comment